It’s not even so much that he drops it, it’s that he doesn’t catch it cleanly on the fly. Say he picked that ball out of the dirt on a quick skip that did go into his glove, he still needs to get an out.
Also, there is a first base umpire you see briefly at 1:56 before the camera view changes.
It would be odd that they’re only using a two-man crew at this level instead of three-man, but this video doesn’t actually show a lack or proof of U1. However, as it would make you even more wrong due to the increasing responsibilities the plate umpire then has, sure, let’s say it’s a two-man crew.
I’m getting the sense that you don’t understand how any of this works. The plate umpire should not even be looking at this play, which is why going to him for help is wrong/not going to happen. He is watching the batter-runner for a running lane violation in the last half of the distance to first base. At best he…
That absolutely would not have happened, though. That’s U3's call. He makes it or he finds a new job.
+1 immediate firing
lol. I liked the part where he knew enough to know that this was the first base umpire rotating down to the plate, but didn’t notice him clearly pointing out the obstruction and awarding the plate.
Should have been denied entry in the first place for that haircut.
Leaving the course and not re-entering it where they went off. I think they were taking cover from a storm, but you still need to retrace and go back to complete the entire marked course.
Correct. They interviewed him and his crew via translators at several other aid stations before putting it all together.
Hamilton Nolan is pissed.
Well then get your hands on the Rick Pitino/Papa John video.
I’m moving to Denver in two months and I figured Kenneth Faried was a tennis player.
That also doesn’t excuse his need to look to his left after about 2-3 steps. You just need enough of a glance to potentially catch a view of the ball on the ground, perhaps a swing/miss or no swing at all, or in this case, the batter standing there pouting.
Yeah the only thing in OBR close to this would be whatever it says about making a travesty of the game by running the bases in reverse, but that’s way different.
All of the basic ones and none of the arcane ones? The plate means nothing here (but is in fair territory anyway), the batters box is equally meaningless with regards to fair/foul, and the ball ended up in fair territory.
A runner is out when being hit by a batted ball only before it has had a chance to be fielded, i.e., if the infield is in and a grounder gets by the shortstop and hits the runner between second and third he’s ok.
This is not correct.
...in your pants or?