Border Town excels by rooting itself in politics and identity, giving teens their own voices

A

The benefit of large comics publishers offering smaller imprints is that it provides a built-in space for titles that differ in some way from the main lineup. They’re often experimental or off-brand, highly creative, and deeply personal. For years, fans have been bemoaning Vertigo’s slow starvation under DC’s…

The New World creates a technicolor future where reality TV viewers vote to execute criminals

B+

There’s no shortage of comics addressing the state of the world, either confronting the political climate directly or with a bit more subtlety. The New World #1 (Image) is only one such vision, set in a middle future just a couple decades out that echoes the present. After nuclear blasts wiped out significant parts of…

The McElroys successfully translate their Adventure Zone exploits to a comic book in Here There Be Gerblins  

B

Some of the most popular podcasts today are about murder or tabletop roleplaying games. While it’s not the only show of its type, The Adventure Zone has grown a large and enthusiastic audience, large enough to (hopefully) support a published graphic novel. The Adventure Zone: Here There Be Gerblins (First Second) is…

Sherlock Frankenstein's attempt at homage gets stuck in some of the worst parts of comics history

C

Jeff Lemire’s Black Hammer universe is earning attention and acclaim. In the tradition of Supreme Power, Black Hammer presents recognizable superhero templates in a new venue, pulling on decades of continuity without being enslaved to it. His superheroes are a group composed mostly of characters that seem like the…